TURIN SHROUD AND ST. RAPHAEL’S CHURCH
…attached to documents, dated July 1874, in the Church archives, were pieces of cloth stated to have been cut from the covering of the Turin Shroud…
The origin of the surname “Wadbrook” is obscure. It was found in Kingston upon Thames records as far back as 1660 and sometimes was associated with the malting industry. There was a plethora of William Wadbrooksto consider. Wadbrook Street in Kingston [KT1 1EY] was named after William Wadbrook, the elder, a prominent maltster who lived within walking distance of the street. He was recorded in the 1851 Kingston Census, along with his son, William Wadbrook, the younger, also a maltster, and William Wadbrook, a Chelsea Pensioner, who appeared to be running a lodging house. The latter’s grandson, Alfred John Wadbrook, was the first of a line of travelling showmen. No persons with the surname “Wadbrook” were found in the 1871-1911 Kingston Censuses. Identification of a most recent common ancestor [MRCA] for the Kingston Wadbrooks is likely to be challenging.
…attached to documents, dated July 1874, in the Church archives, were pieces of cloth stated to have been cut from the covering of the Turin Shroud…
The Stockhouse, otherwise called the Town Gaol or Borough Gaol, in Kingston upon Thames was situated within what is today the Bentall Centre in Clarence Street.
Catherine McAllister, Assistant Matron at Kingston Infirmary, killed in the Irish Mail Disaster, 14 August 1915
Reviews on four books covering Kingston, its suburbs and societies…