NOTES ON THE HOUSE OF DETENTION, 1852-1890
There was a need for a gaol in Kingston to confine felons during the Assizes and Quarter Sessions. The Stockhouse, the responsibility of Kingston Corporation, was used for this purpose until around 1801. Then, until 1855 part of the House of Correction, for which the County of Surrey was responsible, was used to confine felons for trial. A purpose-built House of Detention, adjacent to the Assize Courts, was then established by Kingston Corporation. This was last used to confine felons at the Midsummer Quarter Sessions held on 1 July 1890.
Download the Full Paper
Share this Post
More To Explore
Reviews on four books covering Kingston, its suburbs and societies…
A fundraising Lenten talk in support of “The Bread of Life” charity of the Sons of Divine Providence.