The first mission in Kingston upon Thames, mentioned in the Catholic Directory, was St. Raphael’s Church, in Surbiton.
CHARLES LOCK LUCK, 1833-1890, A SURBITON ARCHITECT
Charles Lock Luck an architect, born in 1833 at the Paragon, Blackheath, lived in Surbiton from 1860-1890. His works included nine churches, including Christ Church, Surbiton, St. Matthew’s, Surbiton, St. Paul’s, Kingston Hill, the enlargement of St. Peter’s, Norbiton, two churches on the Isle of Wight and two in Kent. He was also the architect of the Kingston Workhouse Infirmary [currently Regent Wing of Kingston Hospital], two schools in Kingston and the initial phase of Ridley Hall theological college in Cambridge. The costs of some of his projects and the building contractors are stated. When not engaged in his busy architectural practice, Charles Luck led an interesting and very full life of public service, which included support of Christ Church, involvement with the local temperance movement and membership of the Surbiton Improvement Commission. He died in 1890 and was buried in St. Mark’s churchyard, Surbiton. This paper is presented as work in progress.
Download the Full Paper
Share this Post
More To Explore
In the Spring of 1901 Kingston Debating Society [KDS], founded in 1886, had 48 members, although not all attended the debates held in that season.